How To Turn Off Auto-Renewal On Your Free Apple Music Trial

Apple’s long-awaited music streaming service launched this week as part of its iOS 8.4 update, but those signing up to the three-month free trial could be charged if they forget to cancel their subscription.

The subscription is set to auto-review after three months by default, but it’s possible for users to change this to avoid being charged if they decide not to stick with Apple Music.

To turn off the renewal in iOS, users need to tap on the profile icon in the top left-hand corner, then ‘View Apple ID’. 

At this point users will be asked for their log in using their Apple ID. The next step is to tap ‘Manage’ under Subscriptions. Under Renewal Options, slide the Automatic Renewal toggle to off and confirm when prompted.

Apple Music is being offered free to users for the first three monthsApple Music is being offered free to users for the first three months

This will ensure that Apple won’t take any payment when the three-month free trial comes to end.

The settings can also be changed on the desktop version of iTunes by clicking on the user account in the top-right of corner of the iTunes and selecting ‘Account Info’. Users should then to go Settings and click on ‘Manage’ next to Subscriptions, then ‘Off’ next to Automatic Renewal.

Apple Music is the tech giant’s first step into subscription-based music streaming, having previously relied on selling downloads.

The new service is set to go head-to-head with market leader Spotify as well as Jay-Z’s new high-res audio streaming service, Tidal.

Following a free three-month trial, a monthly subscription costs £9.99 or £14.99 for a family package, which gives access for up to six people.

Also Read

How To Turn Off Auto-Renewal On Your Free Apple Music Trial